Join us to learn about the Quaker Meeting House, located at 7 Fair Street. Built in 1836, it served as the Friend’s Academy with beloved island teacher John Boadle educating Quaker children for nearly twenty years. In 1865, the building was reconfigured as a meeting house, until only a handful of the faithful were left on island. In 1894, the building was sold to the nascent Nantucket Historical Association for meetings and their first museum. Today, it looks much the same as it did in 1865, with Friends meeting for quiet contemplation in the summer months.
Tune in to learn more about this iconic island landmark.